Avoidance and weapons of mass distraction

Felicity Filicularis, pic by Neave R Willoughby

Welcome to my world of postgraduate studies. Sorry about the delay, I was kidnapped by time bandits and jumped ship at Oamaru for the steampunk celebrations.

Something not so film related you might not know about me is my great love of costumes and creations, therefore my latest exercise in procrastination has been the creation of the steampunk entomologist – Felicity Filicularis.

But I digress, you’ll be relieved to hear that not all the time passed since I last blogged has been steamed away and the film is still full steam ahead (if you’ll pardon my distractions).

I’m mostly in Dunedin now, planning the plot and tentatively beginning to edit. The winter is trying to set in, but unusually balmy weather leaves me (surprisingly) hoping for snow so I can head out and capture the stunning scenery that goes with snow. All I can see out my window today is cloud, thick white fluff filling my porthole to the world outside. Lucky it’s cozy inside and the weather might just get me to sit still long enough to write the latest version of my script.

Here’s hoping.

But the city isn’t enough and I’ll be off to the tussock country in a couple of days for the next meeting of the Mackenzie sustainable futures trust. I’m looking forward to learning a little more about the process and getting an idea of what might come out of this process. I have to admit I’m a bit of a cynic about decisions being acted upon but always hopeful – the collaboration I hope to be seeing is the way to go for this sort of national/local subject.

Wish me luck, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Sof

This entry was posted in Admin&Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Avoidance and weapons of mass distraction

  1. Pingback: More rambles from me… « anything about bugs

Leave a comment